Rockwall ISD honored the 2016 Teachers of the Year from each of its 19 campuses on Friday, May 6 at a celebration held at the Hilton Bella Harbor. The highlight of the evening was the naming of the elementary and secondary district Teachers of the Year for 2016. Taking the elementary-level honor was Brenda Sandoval-Jones from Howard Dobbs Elementary. Justin Newberry from Herman E. Utley Middle School was selected as the Secondary Teacher of the Year.

Both teachers were awarded a vacation package valued at $2,500. Together they will serve as the district’s representatives for the regional Teacher of the Year competition administered by the Texas Association of School Administrators. Additionally, each campuses teacher of the year received a $100 Visa gift card and “swag bag” containing a plaque and other goodies from each of the sponsors.

The 19 Campus Teachers of the Year are as follows:

  • Melissa Tilson – Amanda Rochell Elementary School
  • Natalie Kirkley – Amy Parks-Heath Elementary School
  • Venus Britton – Billie Stevenson Elementary School
  • Melissa Ferguson – Celia Hays Elementary School
  • Kirsten Golden – Doris Cullins-Lake Pointe Elementary School
  • Courtenay Bridges – Dorothy Smith Pullen Elementary School
  • Mynda Rivera-Ruiz – Dorris A. Jones Elementary School
  • Kristina Bell– Grace Hartman Elementary School
  • Brenda Sandoval-Jones – Howard Dobbs Elementary School
  • Holly Sanford – Nebbie Williams Elementary School
  • Melissa Tyner – Ouida Springer Elementary School
  • Jami Nelson – Sharon Shannon Elementary School
  • Brenna LeCroy – Virginia Reinhardt Elementary School
  • Justin Newberry – Herman E. Utley Middle School
  • Maria Shah – J.W.Williams Middle School
  • Brandy Clifton – Maurine Cain Middle School
  • Charlsie Griffiths – Rockwall High School
  • Leslie Reese – Rockwall-Heath High School
  • Heather Graham – Rockwall Quest Academy

Rockwall ISD also honored Grace Jones, fourth grade teacher at Hartman Elementary, for being named the 2016 Sheri Stodghill Fowler Beginning Teacher of the Year.

This award was a new tradition to be established in Rockwall ISD for 2016. The award is in memory of Sheri Stodghill Fowler who was the Chief Communications Officer for the school district for nine years before her passing last January after a lengthy battle with cancer.

The award recognized an outstanding teacher who is in her first year of the profession and has shown dedication to the profession and to personal growth and development.

Congratulations to all of the teachers!!!